3 Tips on Battling the Holiday 10

Halloween is tomorrow, jump-starting the season of candy, baked goods and butter-laden entrées. This means one thing- time to combat the dreaded holiday 10 lb gain.

As I was checking out my Twitter feed this morning, this post caught my eye (fitting for today’s blog post from yours truly). While I appreciate the foods it lists as healthier alternatives to Halloween treats, I’m going to go in a slightly different direction with my suggestions on keeping that holiday flub at bay. So, without further ado, here are Callie’s tips on battling the Holiday 10:

1. GET UP AND MOVE! Seriously. If you don’t already have an exercise regimen, I highly recommend one. I’m not a doctor, but every doctor I’ve talked to and every study I’ve read suggests a minimum of 30 minutes of light exercise three times per week. And that’s the bare minimum. Wake up tomorrow morning and go for a walk or jog before work, and you won’t regret it. If you’re already working out, that’s great! Maybe you can add an extra day of cardio or weights, a new class or maybe even a whole new hobby that requires physical activity. The most important thing is that you are MOVING and keeping your serotonin levels up while combatting unwanted fat gain.

Photo Courtesy of Gremlins 2

Photo Courtesy of Gremlins 2

2. Pick and choose. You can’t eat terribly all the time (duh), but eating healthy day in and day out can prove to be stressful as well- especially when the holiday munchies come around. We’re people. We crave things we know we can’t have. Trust me, I crave Mexican food and anything sweet about 99.9%…I feel your pain. It’s ok to give into cravings every once in a while, but aside from watching your portion intake, pick and choose wisely. Before picking up that ghost-shaped cookie (or whatever yummy temptation you come across), ask yourself if a) you’ve eaten healthy for the majority of the week (I stick with the 80/20 rule), b) you’ve been exercising to the extent you want to and c) if this particular cookie is worth eating and passing up on any other treats to come. If you can answer these questions with a “yes,” then go ahead and indulge…just don’t become a gremlin and start shoveling the rest of the goodies in your mouth because you’ve already “derailed” on your diet for the day (yes, I’ve been guilty of this more than once).

3. Make healthier alternatives. I know cooking can be a major pain in the you-know-what. I totally get that. It takes time, money and cleaning (I somehow manage to use just about every dish I own whenever I cook and give myself a healthy pile of dishes to clean). BUT, with the beloved Interwebs, there are plenty of websites out there that offer affordable, easy-to-make and yummy recipes. Some of my favorites include Paleoomg.com, Eatingwell.com and civilizedcavemancooking.com. You can use these, or you can just type “Healthy Holiday Recipes” into any major search engine and find your own! With all the processed gunk out there, trust me, making your own meals and treats- knowing exactly what is going into your body- is so worth it!

So there you have it- some of my tips on enjoying the holidays without letting them affect your waistline!

Leave a Reply

